Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

The other day I got a Facebook message from Leish (who is currently island hopping in Thailand, no I’m not jealous) telling me I had to make this. Being the obedient little sister I am, I complied and am glad I did as it is delicious and tastes like Nutella, except it doesn’t have any of the bad stuff which Nutella has. It’s delicious spread on toast, I love it on coconut bread, or simply be classy and eat it with a spoon. The recipe was inspired by the lovely ladies at Julia & Libby. Leish, I can’t promise there will be any left for you when you get back from your adventures.

IMG_0566

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Hazelnuts
  • 2 tablespoons liquid Honey
  • 5 pitted dates
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tablespoon Cacao Powder (or you can use Cocoa)
  • 1 tablespoon Water
  1. Roast the hazelnuts on an lined oven tray at 180 degrees celsius for 10-15, making sure they don’t burn. Let them cool and shake the tray so some of the skins fall off
  2. Place all the ingredients in a food processor and blend for 1-2 minutes until smooth. Add more water if you desire a more creamier spread
  3. Store the mixture in an airtight container or sterilised jar, and try not to eat all at once

IMG_0551
IMG_0556IMG_0559IMG_0572

Have a look at some of our yummy photos on Pinterest:


Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

