Berry Cheesecake

My cousin makes this cheesecake every year for our family christmas and it tastes divine, so light and fluffy. She kindly shared her recipe with me and I made it for a friend’s dinner party. As it was my first attempt at baking a cheesecake, I was pleased with how it came out and how easy it was to make. My Gramps loved it so much he told me that I can make it for him any time.

I only took the photos after it was in the fridge for an hour and not properly set, so as I was taking the photos I could see the edges slowly starting to melt, making it a bit more difficult to get a nice photo of it! Also, my camera is slightly broken at the moment (as in it won’t take any photos) so I had to use my sisters old camera, so the photo quality isn’t as good as normal.

fg1 copy

Ingredients:

Base:

  • 250g Digestive Biscuits (although my cousin insists that you have to use Griffin Malt Biscuits)
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 100g Butter (melted)

Filling:

  • 1 cup Boiling Water
  • 1 packet (85 g) Jelly Crystals (I used raspberry flavour)
  • 375 g Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Castor Sugar
  • 3 cups Frozen Berries
  • 300 ml Cream
  1. Mix the Jelly Crystals with Boiled Water and leave to cool to room temperature
  2. To prepare the base, crush the Biscuits and mix with the Sugar, Cinnamon and Butter
  3. Press into a 24 inch spring tin lined with baking paper
  4. Beat Cream Cheese and Sugar until smooth. Beat in the dissolved Jelly
  5. Whip the Cream until soft peaks form, and fold into the mixture. Gently mix in the frozen berries
  6. Pour over the base and refrigerate for 6 hours or overnight
  7. Top with fresh berries

P1060353

P1060358P1060367

 

Have a look at some of our yummy photos on Pinterest:


Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

