Flour-less Chocolate Cake

I have been invited to a dinner party, so of course I volunteered to take a dessert. One of my good friends is gluten free, so I had to put on my thinking cap for a good gluten free dessert which wouldn’t compromise on taste. I’ve heard a lot about flour-less chocolate cakes, and although I hadn’t tried one, I’ve spent a considerable amount of time staring at photos of moist and deliciously goey looking cakes. So I thought it was about time I give one a go, and I am now questioning why I would ever put flour in a cake ever again. The cake looked crispy on the outside so I was worried it was overcooked, but once I cut into Β it, it was moist, rich and perfectly wobbly. The cake is great served either warm or cold, with vanilla bean ice-cream or a raspberry coulis.

IMG_7124

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup strong Coffee
  • 3/4 cup White Sugar
  • 500 grams Chocolate (I used 1x250g of 72% Whittakers Dark, and 1x250g of 50% Whittakers)
  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 6 Eggs
  1. Preheat the oven to 150 degrees celsius. Line an 18″ cake tin with baking paper
  2. Over a low element, mix together the coffee and sugar until dissolved
  3. Using a double boiler, melt the chocolate
  4. In a mixer, mix together the melted chocolate and butter until well incorporated
  5. Add in the coffee/sugar mixture, then add the eggs one at a time. Make sure it is all well mixed
  6. Pour into cake tin and bake for 45 minutes
  7. Once baked, leave in tin and put in the fridge for a few hours or overnight

IMG_7068 IMG_7077 IMG_7095

Have a look at some of our yummy photos on Pinterest:


Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 Comments

  1. Austin Dodge

    The cake was delicious but the directions weren’t very specific. I didnt know whether the oven temp was in Celsius or Fahrenheit or what size pan to use or whether i could eat it straight out of the oven. My cake rose over the sides of my pan and didn’t look too good. But verrrrryyy delicious. I will certainly be making it again soon now that i know what im doing. And its actually a very quick cake to make.

    1. procrastabakers

      Hi Austin! Thanks for the feedback. Glad you found it delicious! I’m sorry the instructions weren’t clear enough for you, I have made a few changes so hopefully they help. Did the cake work out ok eating it straight out of the oven? I haven’t tried that yet but sounds delicious πŸ™‚

  2. Austin Dodge

    It was great but fell apart a little. Though I was a little sloppy with the cutting. I’m making it again today for a dinner party. Hopefully it will look better in a bigger pan. Oh and the texture was perfect! Which was the biggest concern with

  3. Yasmina

    Huge thumbs up for this cake from my dad – I had made it for his birthday & he had two whole slices even though he’s not really a dessert person. Your recipe is definitely a keeper, thanks!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

