Chocolate Ganache

A delicious chocolate cake with chocolate ganache is my ‘go-to’ recipe for any birthday celebration (or sometimes I make up a celebration as an excuse to bake this cake). So far this year I’ve made one for a 20th, 70th, 80th, and even one for Anzac Day! Today’s celebration was that our cousins, Cameron and Emerson were coming over for dinner so we thought we had better have a dessert planned! While I could never release the recipe for the cake as it is my best friend’s mum’s recipe that I believe is tightly held, I can let you in on the ganache secret. You would not believe how easy it is. It is adopted from Annabel Langbein’s book.

Ingredients:

  • 250g chocolate (I use the 72% dark ghana Whittakers chocolate)
  • 250mL cream

Image

In a saucepan, pour in the cream. Heat that up on medium heat until you start to see bubbles forming around the sides of the pot. At that point, take the pot off the heat and add in the chocolate (broken up into pieces). Whisk like crazy until smooth and glossy.

Image

You can choose when to ice this on the cake depending on what thickness you want, however make sure the cake is not warm! I usually leave the icing for 15 minutes, then ice with 1/4 of the icing but slowly pushing it over the sides so you get the dripped effect. I learned this trick from Donna Hay on an Australian Masterclasss. Then I leave the icing in the bowl for another 15 minutes before I put the rest of the icing on. At this point I only ice the top of the cake as it is a bit thicker so won’t drip down and then you can decorate as you like. Enjoy!

Image

 

Have a look at some of our yummy photos on Pinterest:

Leave a Reply

